Can I get any more disgusted with Google?

Once again, I’m blocked from using my Blogger account on Blogger (notwithstanding the “or sign in with your Blogger account” prompt).  I cannot even sign in to comment there.

Worse, I’m completely blocked from commenting on Blogger blogs even when anonymous/pseudonymous comments are allowed.  I fill in the Captcha, but the comments neither preview nor post. I can post pseudonymously from work, but not from home with my own IP address.

It looks like Google is trying to strongarm me into using one of their Google accounts.  Well, dammit, I won’t.  Their data-retention policies are anathema, and they’ve long since forgotten what evil means.

I am going to take out a Google account, and use it exactly once.  I am going to close comments on ergosphere.blogspot.com, switch the timestamps to a convertible format and post a headline diverting everyone here.  Google can either respect people’s desire not to be tracked, catalogued and surveilled everywhere they go, or I’ll null-route all their servers.

5 Responses to “Can I get any more disgusted with Google?”

  1. Tom Says:

    Welcome back to the blogosphere. Let’s hope wordpress continues to respect people’s privacy.

  2. M Bender Says:

    I sure hope you’ve discovered scroogle (dot org).

  3. opit Says:

    I find Blogger blacks out on some websites when I try to view them.
    I’m conflicted about your desire for privacy and posting your link on my Blogroll. I have a few people who like to use my picks on worthwhile web content. Kindly advise if you’d rather I gave you a miss.

  4. Engineer-Poet Says:

    If I didn’t want anyone to read it, I sure wouldn’t post it here.  Link anything you want.

  5. Eclipse Now Says:

    Hi Engineer Poet,
    and here I was thinking that all I needed to do was embrace google+ and it would be like turning Youtube into Facebook, and maybe make commenting over on Next Big Future easier! Do you really hate Google that much? I like Gmail, and … maybe … an anonymous google+ avatar (Max Green). Annoying they wouldn’t let me go by Eclipse Now

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

